University – to go or not to go?

For most people in Year 13 at the moment, I can imagine that you’re only going through the same amount of stress as I am about universities and UCAS and Foundation years and apprenticeships etc etc etc – the list is just never ending!  For me, I never thought that I would actually end up going to university when I finished school – I didn’t think it was right for me and I was always so worried about the cost of everything and what would happen if I didn’t end up liking my course and a million other worries!

Being someone who is creative and never really enjoyed subjects like Maths and Science, it is now proving significantly harder to chose whether or not I should go straight into university at the end of Year 13 or to do a Foundation year or whether to go at all?! I’ve been constantly pressured my teachers at school to do a Foundation year but I know that that is definitely not what I should be doing.  I really feel like schools sometimes push ideas on to you that is something that they know that gets people the best marks or into the best universities but they don’t think about whether it is right for that individual.

Don’t get me wrong though, I know the teachers and the schools are, at heart, only trying to get what’s best for you but sometimes it feels like we’re being forced into some sort of machine where we are processed and then we come out the other end all identical, with all the same qualifications, and we aren’t seen as an individual any more – just someone with a candidate number and hundreds of UCAS points.

Thanks for reading all the way to the end if you did and leave a comment if you want! X

Leave a Reply

